Skip to main content

Library Resource Center

Resource Access

Your WebCentral ID is your first name (generally your full legal name) lowercase, followed by the last 5 digits of your student ID #. Your initial password is the letters & symbol: CCC# followed by the last 6 digits of your social security number. The CCC must be capitalized. If you encounter any other problems accessing WebCentral, please contact the CCC Service Desk at 308-398-7999 during business hours.

All remote users of licensed resources must login. To access databases, you need to be a current Central Community College student, faculty, or staff member and provide your college student/staff ID number for authentication. When you try to access one of the databases a box should pop up where you can enter your ID/login & password.  Note: This is the same identification & password used for WebCentral access.

Nebraska residents who are not CCC faculty, student or staff members may access a number of databases via http://www.nlc.state.ne.us/nebraskAccess/logon.asp by entering a valid driver's license number or state identification number. If you are a Nebraska resident without a Nebraska driver's license, please contact one of the CCC Campus Resource Centers (see the "Contact Information" drop down menu ).   

You can connect to Flipster on a computer or a smart device (via the Flipster app).  You’ll be asked for your WebCentral ID/Password to continue access

Loading ...

Interlibrary Loans and Renewals

Please contact your campus Resource Center Supervisor or Director via email (see the "Contact Information" drop down menu). 

Interlibrary loan and document delivery will be utilized to provide resources that are either otherwise unavailable or outside the scope of our collections.

*Library books, audiobooks, and magazines can be checked out for two weeks.

*DVDs can be checked out for one week.

*Interlibrary loan items are subject to special restrictions for the initial item loan period.

Loading ...

Resource Center Guidelines and Procedures

The mission of the Resource Centers at Central Community College is to serve the diverse information needs of our students, faculty and staff. We support the college’s mission by acquiring resources to support the curriculum and providing equal access to those resources. We promote the development of information literacy through class presentations and interaction with our library users.

The goal of the Central Community College Resource Centers is to have a usable collection of resources which support the college curriculum. The major objective is to be an active participant in the educational programs of Central Community College. Our collections include materials in various formats such as print, media, and electronic. The collections on each campus reflect curriculum-specific needs and support both on- and off-campus students of the college.

Central Community College is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action institution.

Loading ...

Collection Development

The Resource Center staff on each campus is primarily responsible for selecting resources suitable for their individual collection and often review current and retrospective bibliographies and journals, judging format and degree of completeness.


All library users are invited to recommend items for the Resource Center collection. The staff strives to meet the needs for faculty and students.


The following priorities guide selecting resources:

  1. should support the curriculum, programs, and in general, student learning;
  2. should aid faculty members in teaching and aid all staff with professional growth;
  3. not directly related to Central Community College programs, but are of educational or informational interest for an educated and informed college community

When selecting specific resources for the Resource Centers, the following general points are considered:

  • relevance and significance of the topic to the college curriculum;
  • sufficiency of scope and treatment for the intended audience;
  • accuracy and effective presentation of the information;
  • timeliness or performance of the material;
  • reviews by experts in the field or other respected authorities;
  • response to reference requests or questions;
  • favorable reviews in the literature.

General Collection
Items supporting the curriculum of Central Community College have priority in selection.

Books
Books provide a wide scope of historical, comprehensive, and diverse information for our students, faculty, and staff. Textbooks are not bought for the collection. Multiple copies of a book title are not usually bought for each campus collection.

Serials/Periodicals/Journals/Newspapers
Periodicals are publications issued in successive parts, bearing numeric or chronological designation. For publications local in nature, the Resource Center will buy hard copies as long as funding is available. Periodicals and journals are bought through subscription and continue as long as funding is available. When national and international publications are needed, electronic databases are preferred sources. Full-text electronic databases are the preferred source for serials, periodicals, journals, and newspapers.

Audiovisual
Audiovisual materials include, but are not limited to audiotapes, compact discs, and DVDs as recommended by faculty and staff to support instructional needs.

Electronic and Online Resources
Electronic and online resources are available to all students, faculty, and staff. Most of these resources can be accessed remotely. Selection of electronic resources will be based on the same criteria used for other formats. Because of the unique format, other factors such as ease of use, access methods, interface choices, searching and information delivery methods will also be considered.

Out-of-Print Materials
Out-of-print materials are rarely bought unless it is for replacement of heavily-used titles which are either lost or withdrawn because of poor physical condition or they will fill in significant gaps in the collection.

Archival Collection
The Resource Centers will maintain a collection of materials to document the history of Central Community College.

Donations/Gifts
Using the proper guidelines, donations and gifts will be accepted. In addition, all donated materials must be in good physical condition with no writing or highlighting inside. There should be no stains, mildew, or brittle pages. Bindings should be in good repair. The Central Community College Gifts-in-Kind and Donations Procedures form must be completed.

To preserve a well-balanced, viable, and useful collection of resources for Central Community College, the Resource Center staff will continually evaluate the collection to discover its effectiveness.

Replacement
Decisions to replace worn out or damaged materials will be based on:

  • demand for an item;
  • existing coverage of the subject in the collection;
  • availability of newer and better materials on the subject;
  • price of the replacement copy.

Deselection
To provide Resource Center patrons with a quality collection, obsolete, damaged, or otherwise unusable material must be withdrawn. The following criteria will be used to deselect books from the Resource Center collections:

  • materials that no longer support the curriculum;
  • poor physical condition and not suitable for repair;
  • obsolete information with little historical value;
  • replacement by a newer edition or a resource with better coverage or a more suitable format;
  • duplicate copies of a title no longer in high demand;
  • material with publication dates older than 5 years.

The Resource Centers support:

Library Bill of Rights
American Library Association. (1996). ALA Library Bill of Rights.
The Freedom to Read Statement
American Library Association. (2004, June 20). ALA Freedom to Read Statement.
Freedom to View Statement
American Library Association. (1990, January 10). ALA Freedom to View Statement.
Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries
American Library Association. (2000, July 12). ALA Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries.
Policy on Confidentiality of Library Records
 
American Library Association. (1986, July 2). ALA Policy on Confidentiality of Library Records.
 
The Resource Centers acquire materials which represent differing opinions and without censorship. No materials will be added or withdrawn at the request of any single individual or group. Any student, faculty member, and staff may formally challenge any material found in the Resource Center collection based on appropriateness.

Central Community College strives to provide the college community with current material reflecting diverse views of controversial social, scientific, and philosophical issues. Members of the college community with concerns about material in the Resource Center collection or materials not selected should use the following procedures to express those concerns:

  1. The complainant may visit with the professional leader of the campus Resource Center. The complainant should clearly and concisely state the reason for the concern and provide a solution or potential solution for consideration.
  2. If the Resource Center Director and the complainant cannot reach an agreeable solution, a written statement will be provided to the Campus Dean of Educational Services and the Dean responsible for the Resource Centers. The deans, Resource Center Director, and the complainant will meet to try to reach an agreeable solution. Additional faculty or staff may be called on to meet with the parties to provide additional input.
  3. If an agreement cannot be reached at level two, the deans, faculty person, complainant, and the Vice President for Educational Services will meet to see what solutions may be reached.
  4. The final step to the appeal process will involve the complainant, deans, Vice President for Educational Services, and the College President. The College President’s decision will be the final decision.
Loading ...

Live Chat