Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Holocaust

Discover general resources and information about the Holocaust and Auschwitz. This guide serves as an abbreviated starting point for research.

Websites

Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum

The Auschwitz-Berkenau Memorial and Museum website for the former concentration/extermination camp includes information on museum tours and relics, historical photos and documents, online history lessons, articles, and more.

Faces of Auschwitz

From the archives of the Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and various collaborators, explore a preserved collection of thousands of photos and stories of former Auschwitz-Birkenau prisoners and victims.

Florida Center for Instructional Technology: Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust

From the Florida Center for Instructional Technology, "A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust" features a timeline of Holocaust history, teacher resources, people overviews, student activities, and sections on art, literature, and music.  

The Wiener Holocaust Library: The Holocaust Explained

Maintained by The Wiener Holocaust Library, explore a compilation of hundreds of pages of digital resources (videos, images, and text) to understand the essential facts of the Holocaust.

Holocaust Education Resource Council: Resources for Educators

From the Holocaust Education Resource Council, find Holocaust educational resources, lessons, and information on pedagogicial principles.

The Jewish Virtual Library (A Project of AICE): The Holocaust Wing

The digital "Holocaust Wing" of the Jewish Virtual Library, a project of the American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise (AICE), includes resources and articles on Holocaust basic history, maps, key terms, and thorough research sections on numerous topics.

Remember.org: A People's History of the Holocaust and Genocide

Find photos, art, stories, study guides, and testimonies of Holocaust survivors online.

The United States Holocaust Museum: The Holocaust Encyclopedia: Auschwitz

Explore the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's Holocaust Encyclopedia and learn more about Auschwitz (key facts, number of victims, maps, deportations, prisoner revolts, Auschwitz incarnations, sub-camps, liberation, etc.).

USC Shoah Foundation: Visual History Archives Online

Search and view more than 54,000+ video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide from the visual history archives of the USC Shoah Foundation. Users will need to register and make account to access online content.