Skip to main content

Using Library Resources: Database
Descriptions

This guide provides information about the Central Community College libraries and the resources we offer. It includes tutorials showing how to access and use the catalog, the databases, and other resources for purposes of research and finding information.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a collection of over two million archival material descriptions, including MARC records from WorldCat and finding  aids harvested from the Web. Archival collections, held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives, are represented in ArchiveGrid.

CAMIO

CAMIO is a Catalog of Art Museum Images Online. It is an online collection of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Chronicle of Higher Education is the number one source of news, information and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

EBSCOhost Databases

EBSCOhost is a collection of comprehensive databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Databases include:

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals.

Business Source Premier is the industry's most used business research database, providing full text to more than 2,300 journals. It is updated daily.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 700 journals. Dates back to 1937.

eBook Collection lets you search and view the full text of Central Community College's academic eBook collection.

OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) is the only full-text only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across    the disciplines.

Health Source-Consumer Edition is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many  topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source-Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Religion and Philosophy collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, and more.

MAS Ultra-School Edition is designed especially for high school libraries. It contains nearly 500 popular high school magazines, 360 full-text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents and over 510,000 photos, maps and flags.

MasterFILE Premier is designed specifically for public libraries. It provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering virtually every subject area of general interest.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.

Military & Government Collection offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government via a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text to more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. In addition it contains full text television and radio news transcripts.

Primary Search is designed for elementary school research.

Professional Development Collection provides a highly specialized collection of full text education journals.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional & behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia provides over 25,000 encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Vocational and Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions, and the general public. Indexes nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

ERIC – The Educational Resource Information Center provides access to education literature resources.

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) is Wilson’s largest biography database covering the complete range of biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, speeches, and obituaries. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!

 

Kanopy

Watch over 26,000 films on Kanopy! CCC students, faculty, and staff can now watch must-see classic films from the Criterion Collection, learn about every subject imaginable from The Great Courses and PBS, or indulge in cinema sourced from award-winning filmmakers globally. Kanopy makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films anytime.

Films On Demand

Films On Demand is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas.

Nebraska Access

NebraskAccess provides Nebraska residents with free 24/7 access to premium databases containing thousands of full text popular magazine and journal articles; primary source documents; genealogical, health, legal, small business, and science resources; reading recommendations; and research resources for  K-12 students. These resources are available to Nebraska residents at no cost. The Nebraska Library Commission purchases subscriptions for Nebraskans with funding from the State of Nebraska and the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Residents can link to NebraskAccess resources from computers at home or at public, K12 school, college, or university libraries across Nebraska. Access these resources from any Internet connection using a Nebraska driver’s license, or state identification number.

Driver's license and state ID numbers will only be used to prove Nebraska residency, in compliance with the license agreements governing database use, not to personally identify residents using NebraskAccess.  The number you use to login to NebraskAccess will not be captured or stored on Nebraska Library Commission servers.


Databases available through NebraskaAccess are:

MasterFILE Complete contains thousands of full text magazines, journals, and reference works and more than one million images. Includes Consumer Reports and Consumer Buying Guide.

Primary Search is designed for elementary age students. It contains full text magazines and reference works including Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.

NoveList Plus contains reading recommendations for fiction and non-fiction titles, book summaries, reviews, and series information.

NoveList K-8 Plus contains reading recommendations for the younger crowd.

Biography Reference Bank has full text biographical information from magazines, journals, and reference works for over 719,000 individuals.

Biography Reference Center has full text reference works and narrative biographies for over 460,000 notable people.

MyHeritage for Libraries provides global genealogy resources.

Points of View Reference Center contains critical analysis with overview, point and counterpoint on hundreds of topics for middle and high school students.

 Legal Information Reference Center has full text reference works (NOLO Press publications) and legal forms.

Small Business Reference Center contains full text reference works; videos.

Consumer Health Complete contains full text reference works, periodicals, videos.

Science & Technical Collection has full text magazines and journals.

Psychological and Behavioral Sciences Collection has full text magazines and journals.

FirstSearch Databases, including WorldCat, will continue to be available, however the interface will be changing. These include library holdings of books, CDs, DVDs, journals and more.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complimentary medicine, and much more. Provides coverage for over 70 wide-ranging topics in leading nursing publications. Training videos are available for nursing programs looking to enhance student learning.