This guide provides information about the Central Community College libraries and the resources we offer. It includes tutorials showing how to access and use the catalog, the databases, and other resources for purposes of research and finding information.
The Resource Center on CCC's Hastings campus has a number of holdings on this issue. The list on the right contains most of the related items in our inventory.
Citation Style Manuals
American Sociological Association Style Guide
Call Number: REF 808.02 AME
Publication Date: 2007
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: REF 808.027 MLA
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, theMLA Handbookgives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing research papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. For over half a century, theMLA Handbookis the guide millions of writers have relied on.
The seventh edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: REF 808.06615 PUB
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The sixth edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The sixth edition has been revised and updated to include new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media; significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, includi
The Chicago Manual of Style
by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: REF 808.0270973 CHI
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book---including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters. With the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice and a wealth of industry expertise from both Chicago's staff and an advisory board of publishing professionals, The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, is an invaluable resource in this rapidly changing world. If you work with words--no matter what the delivery medium--this is the one reference you simply must have.
APA: The Easy Way!
by Peggy M. Houghton; Timothy J. Houghton; Michael F. Peters
Call Number: 808.06615 HOU
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This handbook covers many detailed specifications of the APA style...including in-text citations, source citations, and a sample paper. It also sheds new light on the manual using step-by-step processes and exemplification that enable readers to fulfill APA rules and regulations while focusing on the content, rather than the format, of their academic research.
How to Not Write Bad
by Ben Yagoda
Call Number: 808.042 YAG
Publication Date: 2013-02-05
Ben Yagoda's How to Not Write Bad illustrates how we can all write better, more clearly, and for a wider readership.
He offers advice on what he calls "not-writing-badly," which consists of the ability, first, to craft sentences that are correct in terms of spelling, diction (word choice), punctuation, and grammar, and that also display clarity, precision, and grace. Then he focuses on crafting whole paragraphs--with attention to cadence, consistency of tone, sentence transitions, and paragraph length.
In a fun, comprehensive guide, Yagoda lays out the simple steps we can all take to make our writing more effective, more interesting--and just plain better.
MLA: The Easy Way!
Call Number: 808.02 HOU
This book clarifies important aspects of MLA guidelines by providing excellent supplemental support. Frequently used aspects of MLA style, citation, and referencing are addressed in a simple format that allows researchers to focus on content instead of mechanics and style. Quite simply, MLA: The Easy Way! presents the basics of MLA style in a clear, concise, accurate, and easy-to-navigate package. Try it, and immediately relieve some of the stress of writing a research paper.
Pocket Reference for Writers
by Toby Fulwiler; Alan R. Hayakawa
Call Number: REF 808.042 FUL
Publication Date: 2001-08-21
Toby Fulwiler and Alan Hayakawa' s goal in writing this 3rd edition of "The Pocket Reference For Writers "is simple yet progressive: to make it possible for students to have a highly condensed, inexpensive Writing Across the Curriculum oritented rhetoric / handbook that can be used in any college course. With this in mind, "Pocket 3" is organized around the different but overlapping stages of writing called planning, composing, researching, revising, and editing. It explains and illustrates issues of style, grammar, punctuation usage, and mechanics as matters of choices that depend upon audience, purpose, and situation rather than static and absolute rules. Like the other Fulwiler/Hayakawa handbooks, all the writing is exceptionally clear, jargon-free, and engaging for college writers to read - all of which make for an ideal classroom companion.
by Vibiana Bowman Cvetkovic; Katie Elson Anderson
Call Number: 808 STO
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Designed to be of use to all levels of educators working with students--from high school to post-graduate--this book addresses the problems and concerns facing librarians and educators involved in the process of teaching academic honesty. Many of the original authors from The Plagiarism Plague have returned with new essays along with new voices, a majority of whom represent the next generation of librarianship, the Web 2.0 professional. Stop Plagiarism contains background material, web resources, a collection of sample exercises, and an interactive CD that provides tools an educator can use to stop plagiarism. One of three videos on the CD features an animated interactive quiz that helps student understand when they must include a citation. The authors have also established an anti-plagiarism wiki where readers are encouraged to participate in the on-going conversation on plagiarism. This book is a one-stop source for anyone who wants to understand why students knowingly or unknowingly plagiarize, who needs materials for teaching academic integrity, and who will benefit from a current resource guide to tools for actively detecting plagiarism.
Tackling the College Paper
by Students Helping Students Students Helping Students; Helping Students
Call Number: 808.02 TAC
Publication Date: 2005-08-02
This book guides students step-by-step through the labyrinth of intros, theses, and conclusions. Honest and practical advice on how to: choose an interesting topic; formulate and argue a strong, clear thesis; keep it error-free; do research assignments; tackle a senior thesis project; and do it all without pulling too many all-nighters.
They Say - I Say
by Cathy Birkenstein; Gerald Graff; Graff
Call Number: 808.042 GRA
Publication Date: 2009-12-22
The book that demystifies academic writing, teaching students to frame their arguments in the larger context of what else has been said about their topic-and providing templates to help them make the key rhetorical moves. The best-selling new composition book published in this century, in use at more than 1,000 schools, They Say / I Say has essentially defined academic writing, identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say"). The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing. The Second Edition includes a new chapter on reading that shows students how to read for the larger conversation and two new chapters on the moves that matter in the sciences and social sciences.
by Rosemarie Menager-Beeley; Lyn Paulos
Call Number: 808 MEN
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Writing Logically, Thinking Critically
by Sheila Cooper; Rosemary Patton
Call Number: 808.042 COO
Publication Date: 2006-03-20
This concise, accessible text teaches how to write logical, cohesive arguments and how to evaluate the arguments of others.
Writing Research Papers
by James D. Lester
Call Number: REF 808.02 LES
Publication Date: 2001-07-23
The definitive research paper guide, Lester combines a traditional and practical approach to the research process with the latest information on researching and writing online.Comprehensive, but not overwhelming, Lester provides students with step-by-step guidance through the research writing process from selecting and narrowing a topic, to formatting the finished document. And it backs up the instruction with the most complete array of samples of any research writing guide on the market. Another of the text's ongoing strengths is its extremely thorough and accurate coverage of citation styles for a wide variety of disciplines. This edition maintains Lester's successful approach while detailing the uses of new computer technologies that are changing the face of research.In addition, an all-new Interactive Edition CD-ROM offers the entire text in an electronic format for easy reference while writing and researching on a computer. Numerous multimedia features include: interactive research activities, weblinks, and resources. The CD is FREE when bundled with the text.Available at an unbelievably low price in two formats perfect and spiral-bound with tabs Lester's text is one that students will keep throughout their college careers.
Using Libguides to Enhance Library Services
by Aaron W. Dobbs (Editor); Ryan L. Sittler (Editor); Douglas Cook (Editor)
Call Number: 025.0422 USI
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The easy-to-use tools in Springshare's LibGuides help you organize web pages, improve students' research experience and learning, and offer an online community of librarians sharing their work and ideas. Editors Dobbs, Sittler, and Cook have recruited expert contributors to address specific applications, creating a one-stop reference. Readers will be able to create subject guides that achieve the full potential of LibGuides with advice on such topics as: Learning from the best-a showcase of 28 LibGuides with exceptional design and pedagogy Collaborating with faculty to embed LibGuides in course management systems Creating a customized look to your LibGuides with design flair and enhanced functionality Getting ready for smart-phone users with a plan for the mobile web Setting up Google Analytics on a LibGuide site Teaching with LibGuides