Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- EDS' default search treats all terms you enter in a search box as though they are joined with AND. For example if you enter television violence children, EDS will return results that contain all 3 terms. To combine your terms in other ways (such as OR or NOT) use the advanced search.
- To improve relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks." for example, "climate change" or "community college students."
- Narrow your search by using the limits on the left hand side of the search results screen. You can narrow your search by date, subject, database, source type, language, etc.
- If there is an apostrophe in your search term, make sure you include it. For example, "handmaid's tale" not "handmaids tale."
- To find variant endings for a word, use the (*)asterisk (truncation symbol). For example: psycol* finds psychology, psychological, psycologic, etc.
- To restrict your searches to books, periodicals or DVDs available in the CCC libraries' collection, check the tab titled "Books/DVDs" and then choose your campus.
Limiters allow users to narrow the focus of their searches so that the information retrieved from the databases being searched is limited according to the selected values.
On the result list, you can select limiters to display under the Refine Results facet.EBSCO recommends the following limiters:
- Full Text (Online) - Limits results to articles with full text available from databases, custom links, and local collections.
- Scholarly (peer Reviewed) Journals - Limits search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals. Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal.
- Available in Library Collection - Limits search results to records whose full text is available online (via EBSCOhost full-text databases, e-journals, institutional repositories, data partners, etc.) or content physically available in your library.
If you would like to limit your search results to a specific Content Provider you can using the Content Provider facet found on the Search Results page. The facet displays which providers are currently part of your results and allows you to update the results to a limited selection of databases. The Content Providers may be a single publisher who is providing content to EBSCO, or an aggregated database, which includes content from many different publishers. The list available is determined by your institution's administrator.
If you would like to limit your results to a specific publisher, we recommend using the Publisher facet available from your Search Results.
EBSCO Discovery Service User's Guide
The three basic Boolean operators are: AND, OR, and NOT. They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your results.
- Narrows your results
- Tells the database that ALL search terms must be present in the results
In many (not all) databases, the AND is implied.
- Broadens your results
- Connects two or more terms
- Tells the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting record
- Narrows your search
- Excludes terms from your results
- Tells the database to ignore terms that may be implied by your search terms
Why use Boolean operators?
- To focus a search, particularly when your topic contains multiple search terms.
- To connect various pieces of information to find exactly what you're looking for.