Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Educational Resources

Use this guide to explore and research Open Educational Resources.

Open Access Material

99 Excellent Open Access Journals for Educators

Provides top-notch scholarly information at no cost.

BioMed Central

A collection of peer-reviewed free full-text articles in biology, clinical medicine and health. The collection has nearly 300 titles published by BMC with immediate access to articles. Authors have copyright protection under a creative commons license allowing re-use without restriction.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

DPLA brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums and makes them freely available to the world. It is a portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources, wherever they may be in America.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Elsevier Open Access Journals

All articles published in open access are peer-reviewed and upon acceptance will be immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.

Frontiers Journals A-Z

A community-oriented open-access academic publisher and research network.

 HighWire Press

The largest archive of free full-text science on earth.

IOPscience

An online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical, and medical content.

The Journal of Speech Sciences (JoSS)

JoSS is an open-access journal which follows the principles of the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), meaning its readers can freely download, copy, distribute, print, search or link to the full texts of any article electronically published in the journal.

Open Humanities Press

OHP is an international, scholar-led open access publishing collection whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide.

Oxford Open Journals

Oxford University Press publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience.

Science Direct Open Access Journals

Articles from 2,500 journals and more than 26,000 book titles.

SpringerOpen

Over 195 peer-reviewed, fully open access journals and more than 50 open access books covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences.

  

Bloomsbury Open Content

Bloomsbury is a well-respected and long time UK publisher who has released some of their academic titles for open access/open education.

 Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

The purpose of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.

Free Textbook List

Free textbooks and study materials for high school, undergraduate, and graduate students.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.

IOP eBooks

A book program that brings together digital publishing with leading voices from across physics to create the essential collection of physics books for a digital world.

Open Library of Humanities (OLH)

The Open Library of Humanities is a gold open access, peer-reviewed, internationally-supported, academic-led, not-for-profit, mega-journal, multi-journal and books platform for the humanities.

Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook (OASIS)

Practical steps for implementing Open Access.

Open SUNY Textbooks

Open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.

 Project Gutenberg

Offers over 46,000 free ebooks.

 

HippoCampus

HippoCampus, a project of the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education (MITE), is full of high-quality resources in a variety of subjects. It is aimed at high school and college level users.

Internet Archive

Digital library of free books, movies and music. Offers permanent acess for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Jamendo

Songs by musicians who want to share their music.

Khan Academy

Hundreds of short educational videos covering many subjects; especially strong collections in science and math.

NPR Online

National public radio news provides high quality, non-profit and non-commercial publicly supported radio news and information programming. Provides in-depth news and features with interviews and commentary.

PBS Online

PBS is a private, non-profit media enterprise owned and operated by the nation's 350 public television stations. It provides non-commercial programs and specials on various subject matters including current news, history, arts and humanities, science and technology.

PBS Learning Media

Tap into America’s #1 Educational Media Brand for access to thousands of innovative, standards-aligned digital resources, compelling student experiences, and professional development opportunities.

Sage American History

Sage American History is designed for use by undergraduate college, community college and high school teachers and students. It is divided into 30 chronological sections, Colonial through modern times.

Ted

Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.

This Nation

A repository of basic information and historical documents related to American Government and politics. Also offers a complete online, open American Government and Politics textbook.

YouTubeEdu

Whether you're doing research for a project, need help with homework, or just want to learn something new, YouTube EDU features some of our most popular educational videos across YouTube.

Vimeo

A social network of video producers. This is a great place to look for a wide variety of content. Some is completely open for redistribution, some is open access.

Wikimedia Commons

A collection of over 6 million free-to-use images, sounds and video files to which anyone can contribute.

 

  • Clipart Library: A clipart gallery with thousands of free clipart, graphics, and images for you to use.
  • Google Image Search: Advanced search allows you to search using many different criteria, including usage rights.
  • Flickr: Search for photographs by orientation, color, size, and license.
  • PDpics.com: A repository of free public domain pictures.
  • Picryl: The largest source for public domain images, documents, music and videos.
  • Pixabay: Free stock photos, vector art, and illustrations available for use without copyright or licensing restrictions.
  • The Noun Project: Find SVG and PNG icons—black and white line drawings—licensed under Creative Commons.
  • Bio-Image Search: Public domain and CC-licensed biomedical images.
  • Wikimedia Commons: High-quality images and metadata for virtually anything.

ALT Open Access Repository

A project which aims to provide a resource base and supporting technologies to ensure effective support for e-learning professionals.It is a collaboration between Cranfield University and the Association for Learning and Technology (ALT).

American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbook Initiative

A list of open access mathematics textbooks that have been evaluated and approved for use in a traditional university course. The American Institute of Mathematics Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.

BookBoon

A collection of free eBooks for students and business professionals. The books can be downloaded in PDF without registration.

College Open Textbooks

This effort funded by the Hewlett Foundation, seeks to drive adoption of open textbooks. Many of the books shared on this resources are reviewed.

Flat World Knowledge

A publisher of college-level textbooks and educational supplements.

FREE - Federal Registry for Educational Excellence

A repository of digital teaching and learning resources created and maintained by the federal government and public and private organizations.

iBerry

A collection of open access materials and resources for learners, educators, and researchers.

iLumina

A digital library of sharable undergraduate teaching materials. It is designed to quickly and accurately connect users with the educational resources they need. These resources range in type from highly granular objects such as individual images and video clips to entire courses.

Learning Exchange

A collection of thousands of learning resources specifically for social services education and training. These include information sheets, official publications, interactive learning resources, video clips, case studies, podcasts and radio broadcasts.It is maintained by the Institute for Research and Innovation in Social Services.

Merlot II

A free, peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services.It is maintained by the California State University System.

National Science Digital LIbrary

Digital library which provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.

North Carolina Learning Object Repository

A collection of documents, audio/video clips, simulations, learning modules, assessments, and more – virtually any type of learning resource that can be digitized and processed.

OER Commons

A digital content hub of teaching and learning materials freely available for everyone to use, whether you are a teacher or a learner. This includes full courses, modules, syllabi, lectures, homework assignments, quizzes, lab activities, pedagogical materials, games, simulations, and many more resources contained in digital media collections from around the world.

Open Academics

University of Minnesota collection of open textbooks with full reviews.

Open Doar - Open Access

A directory of academic open access repositories. Each repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded there. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.It is maintained by SHERPA Services at the University of Nottingham.

Open Textbook Library

An online library to help instructors find affordable, quality open access textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed.It is partnered with the University of Minnesota, BC Campus, and Perdue University.

OpenStax CNX

A website to view and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.It is supported by William & Flora Hewlett Foundation, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, 20 Million Minds Foundation, Maxfield Foundation, Open Society Foundations, and Rice University.

The Orange Grove

Florida’s digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources.

Resource Repository

A digital commons for the global health community. This electronic collection of documents, links, audio, and video files, relies on contributions from the community.It is maintained by the non-profit organization Genetic Alliance.

 

Community College Consortium for OER

CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources. We provide a community and resources to learn about the evolving practice of open education.

View open textbooks in many subject areas.