Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Information Resources

A guide for onlline sources to the latest in health information for consumers and professionals.

Websites

American Cancer Society  

Provides brief information about causes, risks, prevention, detection, diagnosis, staging, treatment, and side effects of a variety of cancers. Also on the site are live chat and a cancer help line.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Provides resources about diseases, conditions, and other special topics arranged under "Health Topics A-Z," and "Travelers’ Health."

Clinical Trials

 A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Consumer Safety

Get breaking consumer news and everyday information about safety, health, products, drugs, medical devices and consumer rights!

DailyMed

 Provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. It is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts).

Dietary Supplement Label Database

Contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the United States.

Drug Information Portal from National Library of Medicine

Quick access to quality drug information.

Drug Interaction Checker

WebMD Interaction Checker

Eat Right

Academy of Nutritionist and Dietetics

GeneEd

Safe and useful resource for students in grades 9-12 to learn genetics.

Genetics Home Reference

Genetic disorders A to Z.

Haz-Mat

 An occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents.

HIV InSite

Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment and prevention from the University of California San Francisco

LactMed

Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

 MedlinePlus

The National Institute of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Contains information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues in language you can understand. Includes interactive tutorials, anatomy and surgery videos.

National Cancer Institute

The government's principal agency for cancer research and training.

National Center for Biotechnology Information

Information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)

The government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.

NLM Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites

Access NLM's numerous databases and resources on your smartphone or tablet.

Pillbox

Aids in the identification of unknown pills. It combines images of pills with appearance and other information to enable users to visually search for and identify oral or solid dosage form medications.

PubChem (National Center for Biotechnology Information) 

Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Has links to 3 databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound and PubChem BioAssay. A PubChem publication site provides links to published articles.

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

Contains the latest information on public health topics of interest.

Household Products Database from U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

Health and safety information on household products.

TOXMAP

Helps users visually explore data primarily from the EPA's Toxic Release Inventory and Superfund Program.

Toxicology Data Network

Resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.

U.S. National Library of Medicine

The worlds' largest biomedical library. The library coordinates a 6,000 member national network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.

Zika Virus Educational Materials and Information Resources

The WIC Works Resource System, U.S. Department of Agriculture.