Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EBSCO Discovery Service: Home

Learn more about your EBSCO Discovery Tool.

About EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is an online research tool that "pulls together" the majority* of our library resources so they can be explored using a single search box.

EBSCO Discovery Service has the same feel and functionality as the EBSCO databases but allows users to search for almost every CCC library resource including our databases, the print collection, all our eBooks, and additional citations that can be used for interlibrary loan from other institutions. 

Users have the option of conducting a discovery search from the "basic search" screen which provides a single search box, or the "advanced search" screen which allows users to search with search modes, facets, limiters, and more.

*Currently, the ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health database andFilms on Demand are not searchable through EBSCO's Discovery Service.

EDS Tutorial

What is a Discovery Tool?

The library software and electronic content markets have been offering "discovery" tools for several years. These products are designed to provide a "Google-like" search experience of the world of library electronic resources including the library online catalog, databases, ejournals, eBooks, and more.

Common Features of Discovery Tools Include:

  • Single search box;
  • Consolidated index of bibliographic metadata from many sources;
  • Fast, single set of results tailored to a library's collection;
  • Facets for easy search refinement by subject, author, type of material and more;
  • Recommendations;
  • Bibliographic tools (folders, citations, persistent links).

Research Starters Tutorial