Skip to main content

Using Library Resources

An Introduction to Databases

Using a WebCentral login, databases and resources are available to Central Community College students and employees to help facilitate research/academic needs. A WebCentral login is required to use databases off campus. Members of the public may access certain library databases in-person at a campus library. 

*For a full listing of library databases, please visit "Databases."

This video defines library databases and explains what you'll find in them.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

This video covers concepts related to searching within academic research databases, using EBSCO's Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Central as examples. Concepts covered are: using the advanced search, limiters, Boolean operators, citing from a database, and more. Concepts related to information literacy and research skills are covered.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

How do I know if it's a scholarly/peer-reviewed article?

College instructors often require that students include only scholarly articles in the bibliographies of their research papers. But how can a student tell the difference between a scholarly publication and a popular one that's written for a general audience?

The criteria below will help you recognize a scholarly or research article. Not every one of these criteria will be found in every article, but when you can answer yes to many of the following questions, you can be quite confident that you've found the kind of literature your instructor wants you to use.

Looking at the Citation

These criteria are most important when you are looking at a citation for an article in an index, a database, or a bibliography:

  • Does the periodical title depict a very specific subject area?

  • Does the article have a complex and lengthy title? 

  • Are the authors' names listed along with their degrees, titles, or other credentials and/or the names of the institutions with which they are affiliated (particularly colleges or universities)?

  • Was the article cited in a subject-specific index or database (e.g., Education Index, Medline, Sociological Abstracts)?

  • Does the periodical title contain the words Journal, Studies, Research, or Review?

  • Is the article long -- more than 5 pages?

    newpaltz.edu

Peer Review

How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

Loading ...

EBSCOhost Discovery Service Tips

 

Advanced Search

 
 


Advanced Search

 
 

 

 

 

Advanced Search

 

 

Advanced Search

Films on Demand

Limiters allow users to narrow the focus of their searches so that the information retrieved from the databases being searched is limited according to the selected values. 

On the result list, you can select limiters to display under the Refine Results facet.EBSCO recommends the following limiters:

  • Full Text (Online) - Limits results to articles with full text available from databases, custom links, and local collections.
  • Scholarly (peer Reviewed) Journals - Limits search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals. Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal.
  • Available in Library Collection - Limits search results to records whose full text is available online (via EBSCOhost full-text databases, e-journals, institutional repositories, data partners, etc.) or content physically available in your library. 

The three basic Boolean operators are: AND, OR, and NOT. They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your results.

Using AND:

  • Narrows your results
  • Tells the database that ALL search terms must be present in the results

       In many (not all) databases, the AND is implied.

Using OR

  • Broadens your results
  • Connects two or more terms
  • Tells the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting record

Using NOT

  • Narrows your search
  • Excludes terms from your results
  • Tells the database to ignore terms that may be implied by your search terms

Why use Boolean operators?

  • To focus a search, particularly when your topic contains multiple search terms.
  • To connect various pieces of information to find exactly what you're looking for.

MIT Libraries

Limiters allow users to narrow the focus of their searches so that the information retrieved from the databases being searched is limited according to the selected values. 

On the result list, you can select limiters to display under the Refine Results facet.EBSCO recommends the following limiters:

  • Full Text (Online) - Limits results to articles with full text available from databases, custom links, and local collections.
  • Scholarly (peer Reviewed) Journals - Limits search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals. Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal.
  • Available in Library Collection - Limits search results to records whose full text is available online (via EBSCOhost full-text databases, e-journals, institutional repositories, data partners, etc.) or content physically available in your library. 

If you would like to limit your search results to a specific Content Provider you can using the Content Provider facet found on the Search Results page. The facet displays which providers are currently part of your results and allows you to update the results to a limited selection of databases. The Content Providers may be a single publisher who is providing content to EBSCO, or an aggregated database, which includes content from many different publishers.  The list available is determined by your institution's administrator. 

If you would like to limit your results to a specific publisher, we recommend using the Publisher facet available from your Search Results.

EBSCO Discovery Service User's Guide

Loading ...

EBSCOhost Search Tutorials

This tutorial demonstrates how to create a Basic Search using EBSCOhost.

*This tutorial was created by the database owner and is not specific to CCC. It give you a general guidance on use of the databases. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

This tutorial provides an overview/guide for searching using advanced features in EBSCOhost.

*This tutorial was created by the database owner and is not specific to CCC. It give you a general guidance on use of the databases. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

A search demonstration in the CINAHL Plus database.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

Loading ...

Live Chat