Skip to main content

Using Library Resources

Print Magazines/Periodicals List (Hastings)

1. The Atlantic Monthly: "The Atlantic is one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious monthly magazines covering major issues in politics, foreign affairs, the economy and cultural trends." (EBSCO)

2. Better Homes & Gardens: ""Better Homes & Gardens. Better Homes and Gardens magazine is full of advice for home owners like you who are looking for ideas, advice, and inspiration when going forward with improvements to their home and landscaping." (EBSCO)

3. Bloomberg Businessweek: "With Bloomberg Businessweek you'll have the insights you need to take advantage of the new reality and thrive in today's complex global economy. " (EBSCO)

4. Bon Appetit: "Bon appétit focuses on what's current and stylish, while still giving readers valuable cooking tools and tips. The only food lifestyle publication on the market, bon appétit offers "life through the lens of food" - cooking in, dining out, culture, travel, entertainment, shopping and design." (EBSCO)

5. Consumer Reports: " "With Consumer Reports magazine you can find advice on Best Buys, unbiased Ratings on thousands of products, and a wealth of information to help you make the best buying decisions for you and your family." (EBSCO)

6. Current Biography: "H.W. Wilson's Current Biography, the monthly magazine, has been delivering up-to-date biographies of men and women of contemporary importance since 1940. The magazine is renowned for its unfailing accuracy, insightful selection and the wide scope of influence of its subjects." (Current Biography)

7. Discover: "Every issue reports captivating developments in science, medicine, technology, and the world around us. Spectacular photography and refreshingly understandable stories on complex subjects connect everyday people with the greatest ideas and minds in science." (EBSCO)

8. The Economist: "The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them." (The Economist)

9. Education Digest: "The Education Digest serves school leaders wanting to find new ways to improve instruction, increase student learning, support teachers, and assist parents." (EBSCO)

10. Educational Leadership: "Educational Leadership is a magazine for educators by educators and includes among its readers principals, teachers, and administrators of every grade." (Educational Leadership 

Image Credit: Pixabay

11. Entertainment Weekly: "Entertainment Weekly has all the latest news about TV shows, movies, and music, as well as exclusive behind the scenes content from the entertainment industry." (Entertainment Weekly)

12. The Family Handyman: "Home improvement ideas, home repair guides and home maintenance tips from the Family Handyman magazine." (The Family Handiman)

13. Great Plains Quarterly: Great Plains Quarterly publishes articles for scholars and interested laypeople on history, literature, culture, and social issues relevant to the Great Plains..." (JSTOR)

14. Hot Rod Inc.: "Hot Rod is the world's largest, oldest, and most respected media brand dedicated to performance automobiles. Hot Rod covers the gamut of hot-rodding with an unrivaled mix of technical information, industry commentary, and new trends." (EBSCO)

15. Kiplinger’s Personal Finance: "Relates to saving, investing, taxes, insurance, major purchases including homes, education, health, travel & more. " (EBSCO)

16. Library Journal: "Library Journal is the most trusted and respected publication for the library community. Built on more than a century of quality journalism and reviews, LJ provides groundbreaking features and analytical news reports covering technology, management, policy and other professional concerns to public, academic and institutional libraries." (EBSCO)

17. Money: MONEY helps you take charge of your finances, providing trusted advice to successfully earn, plan, invest, and spend. MONEY provides in-depth coverage of stocks, mutual funds, the markets, the economy, and the best things money can buy - from travel and technology to home and luxury goods. (EBSCO)

18. Motor Trend: "Motor Trend. Motor Trend brings you the most cutting edge content from the automotive world. An institution in the automotive industry, Motor Trend has been delivering premium content, in-depth analysis, and culturally relevant material since 1949." (EBSCO)

19. National Geographic"National Geographic Magazine is the flagship magazine of the National Geographic Society. Each issue takes a adventurous look into cultural exploration as well as social and environmental changes that impact life on Earth." (EBSCO)

20. Nebraska History: "Nebraska History is a quarterly, illustrated magazine that explores Nebraska's history and culture through original articles and historical images from our extensive collections." (History Nebraska)

21. Nebraska Life: "Nebraska Life explores the people, places, history, culture and food unique to Nebraska." (Nebraska Life)

22. Nebraskaland: "Nebraskaland Magazine is dedicated to outstanding photography and informative writing with an engaging mix of articles and photos highlighting Nebraska’s outdoor activities, parklands, wildlife, history and people. " (Nebraska Game and Parks Commission)

23. Parents: "Parents is written and edited for parents from 18 to 34, who have growing children. It focuses on family formation and growth including the daily needs and concerns of modern mothers. It also regularly features information about beauty, food, fashion, home, age specific child development and more." (EBSCO)

24. People: " "Experience People Magazine in a whole new way with the digital edition. Each issue has the inside scoop on today's hottest celebrities, exclusive photos of your favorite stars and inspiring stories about real-life heroes." (EBSCO)

25. Popular Mechanics: "This is a publication covering a variety of topics, including home improvement, automotive needs, electronics, computers, telecommunications, outdoors, fitness and science and technology." (EBSCO)

26. Popular Science: "Popular Science is the "What's New" magazine of modern science and technology. Each issue covers the latest developments in cars, electronics, communications, tools, energy, aviation, science, space exploration, and much more." (EBSCO)

27. Psychology Today: "View the latest from the world of psychology: from behavioral research to practical guidance on relationships, mental health and addiction." (Psychology Today)

28. Reader’s Digest: "In this era of information overload, Reader's Digest offers something unique: the very best advice, information and inspiration from multiple sources, condensed into an easy-to-read digest." (EBSCO)

29. Scientific American: ". For 170 years, Scientific American has provided curious minds with in-depth features and exclusive content on the latest developments in science, medicine, and technology. " (EBSCO)

30. Skeptical Inquirer: "Skeptical Inquirer is the official journal of the Committee for Skeptical Inquiry. On a bimonthly basis, Skeptical Inquirer publishes critical scientific evaluations of paranormal and fringe-science claims and informed discussion of all relevant issues." (PocketMags)

31. Sports Illustrated: "Through emotional storytelling and award-winning photography, Sports Illustrated provides you with complete coverage of all your favorite sports, including the NFL, College Football, Baseball, College Basketball, the NBA and more." (EBSCO)

32. Time: "TIME's signature voice and trusted content make it one of the most recognized news brands in the world. Offering incisive reporting, lively writing and world-renowned photography, TIME has been credited with bringing journalism at its best into the fabric of American life." (EBSCO)

1. Blue Hill Leader: "The Blue Hill Leader is a newspaper in Blue Hill, Nebraska, USA covering local news, sports, business and community events.. The newspaper is published once a week on Thursday." (MondoTimes)

2. Columbus Telegram: "Breaking News, Sports, Events and Information from Columbus, Schuyler, Duncan, Platte Center, Humphrey, Lindsay, Polk, Shelby, David City, Bellwood and Silver Creek." (Columbus Telegram)

3. Grand Island Independent: "The Grand Island, Nebraska Independent. Central Nebraska's longest-running local news source." (The Grand Island Independent/Twitter)

4. Hastings Tribune: "...is a 6-day a week daily newspaper in south central Nebraska, serving residents in a 10-county area for more than 100 years." (Hastings Tribune/Twitter)

5. Holdrege Daily Citizen: News surrounding the Holdredge, NE area.

6. Kearney Hub: "The Kearney Hub is a daily newspaper published in Kearney, Nebraska, United States, and is the primary newspaper for south-central region of Nebraska surrounding the city." (Wikipedia)

7. Lexington Clipper Herald: A newspaper source for Dawson and Gosper County news.

8. Lincoln Journal Star: "News, sports, entertainment and weather updates from the Lincoln Journal Star newspaper in southeast Nebraska." (Lincoln Journal Star)

9. Minden Courier: Local news in the Minden, NE area.

10.Omaha World Herald: "Breaking news, weather, analysis and information from the Omaha World-Herald about Omaha events, local weather, sports, schools, crime, government, health and entertainment in the Omaha [area]." (Omaha)

11. USA Today: "USA Today delivers current local and national news, sports, entertainment, finance, technology, and more through award-winning journalism, photos, videos and VR." (USA Today)

12. Wall Street Journal: "The Wall Street journal is an American newspaper that focuses on business and financial news. It is published daily in New York City by Dow Jones and Company." (PocketSense)

Loading ...

Live Chat