Skip to main content

Using Library Resources

An Introduction to Databases

Using a WebCentral login, databases and resources are available to Central Community College students and employees to help facilitate research/academic needs. A WebCentral login is required to use databases off campus. Members of the public may access certain library databases in-person at a campus library. 

*For a full listing of library databases, please visit "Databases."

This video defines library databases and explains what you'll find in them.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

This video covers concepts related to searching within academic research databases, using EBSCO's Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Central as examples. Concepts covered are: using the advanced search, limiters, Boolean operators, citing from a database, and more. Concepts related to information literacy and research skills are covered.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

How do I know if it's a scholarly/peer-reviewed article?

College instructors often require that students include only scholarly articles in the bibliographies of their research papers. But how can a student tell the difference between a scholarly publication and a popular one that's written for a general audience?

The criteria below will help you recognize a scholarly or research article. Not every one of these criteria will be found in every article, but when you can answer yes to many of the following questions, you can be quite confident that you've found the kind of literature your instructor wants you to use.

Looking at the Citation

These criteria are most important when you are looking at a citation for an article in an index, a database, or a bibliography:

  • Does the periodical title depict a very specific subject area?

  • Does the article have a complex and lengthy title? 

  • Are the authors' names listed along with their degrees, titles, or other credentials and/or the names of the institutions with which they are affiliated (particularly colleges or universities)?

  • Was the article cited in a subject-specific index or database (e.g., Education Index, Medline, Sociological Abstracts)?

  • Does the periodical title contain the words Journal, Studies, Research, or Review?

  • Is the article long -- more than 5 pages?

    newpaltz.edu

Peer Review

How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

Loading ...

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source

[The ProQuest] Nursing & Allied Health Source database provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

ProQuest

The ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source will generate a "results page" based on a specific search query in the database.  Learn more about how to interpret the specific features of a "results page" using ProQuest's guide

Decorative Image: ProQuest Search Box Image

Image Credit: ProQuest Screen Capture

Need to find an article or story in a specific publication or journal? Use the "ProQuest Publication Search" page for your publication research needs.

Decorative Image: ProQuest Publication Search Page

Image Credit: ProQuest Publication Screen Capture

Learn how to navigate "publication search" features through ProQuest's guide.

Loading ...

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source Video Tutorials

Find articles from scholarly journals and trade publications in the ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health database.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

This video shows how to conduct an advanced search on the ProQuest platform.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

Find articles from scholarly journals and trade publications.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

Loading ...

Live Chat