Skip to main content

Using Library Resources

An Introduction to Databases

Using a WebCentral login, databases and resources are available to Central Community College students and employees to help facilitate research/academic needs. A WebCentral login is required to use databases off campus. Members of the public may access certain library databases in-person at a campus library.

This video defines library databases and explains what you'll find in them.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

This video covers concepts related to searching within academic research databases, using EBSCO's Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Central as examples. Concepts covered are: using the advanced search, limiters, Boolean operators, citing from a database, and more. Concepts related to information literacy and research skills are covered.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

How do I know if it's a scholarly/peer-reviewed article?

College instructors often require that students include only scholarly articles in the bibliographies of their research papers. But how can a student tell the difference between a scholarly publication and a popular one that's written for a general audience?

The criteria below will help you recognize a scholarly or research article. Not every one of these criteria will be found in every article, but when you can answer yes to many of the following questions, you can be quite confident that you've found the kind of literature your instructor wants you to use.

Looking at the Citation

These criteria are most important when you are looking at a citation for an article in an index, a database, or a bibliography:

  • Does the periodical title depict a very specific subject area?

  • Does the article have a complex and lengthy title? 

  • Are the authors' names listed along with their degrees, titles, or other credentials and/or the names of the institutions with which they are affiliated (particularly colleges or universities)?

  • Was the article cited in a subject-specific index or database (e.g., Education Index, Medline, Sociological Abstracts)?

  • Does the periodical title contain the words Journal, Studies, Research, or Review?

  • Is the article long -- more than 5 pages?

    newpaltz.edu

Peer Review

How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain.

*This video tutorial was created by the video owner and is not specific to CCC, but the content gives you general guidance on the subject. Please contact a librarian if you have questions not covered here.

Loading ...

Database List

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost is the primary way of accessing journals, periodicals, eBooks, and other databases which are available free to CCC students, faculty, and staff.

 

eBook Academic Collection  or eBook General Collection 

These database collections contain a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matters, general subject matters, and various genres. The breadth of information available ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs. [EBSCO eBooks only]

 

ProQuest

 

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source

This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books, and more.

Films on Demand

 

Films on Demand

Films On Demand allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a collection of over two million archival material descriptions. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented. ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials.

 

 

The Chronicle of Higher Education

 

The Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

NebraskAccess

 

NebraskAccess

NebraskAccess offers free 24/7 access to websites selected by librarians, full-text government publications and Nebraska historical resources. Nebraska residents are also provided with free online access to thousands of full-text magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, biographical and business information, genealogical resources, and more.

OCLC FirstSearch

OCLC FirstSearch & OCLC WorldCat

FirstSearch offers material from a narrow range of databases.

WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for books, CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks, full-text articles, historic documents/photos, and digital versions of rare items which are not publicly available.

Live Chat