KnightCite is an online citation generator service, which simplifies the task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style (MLA, APA, or Chicago) by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation, eliminating the need to memorize minute details of style for multiple kinds of sources.
Purdue's Online Writing Lab houses writing resources and instructional material. Students will find information to assist with many writing projects. Find examples of citation and styles in MLA and APA format.
Writing and citation help/tutoring is available as a free service to Central Community College students at each campus Writing Center. For more information, call 402-562-1204 (Columbus) 308-398-7394 (Grand Island), or 402-460-2146 (Hastings).
What is the Writing Center?
The Writing Center offers free, one-on-one assistance to Central Community College students as they strive to improve their writing skills. We provide CCC student writers with a welcoming, inviting, collaborative and supportive atmosphere in which they can develop their skills and make informed decisions about their writing. We promote writing excellence and success of students in both their academic and future careers. The Writing Center also offers free, one-on-one collaboration to Central Community College faculty and staff as they create assignments for their courses, write for publication, update their resumes and CVs, etc.
How do I use the Writing Center?
Students are encouraged to schedule appointments ahead of time. We accept drop-ins, but a Writing Coach might not be immediately available. Please contact the Academic Success Center Coordinator for more information or for assistance in scheduling an appointment.
Any time you use ideas or words that appear in a document written by someone else, you must formally reference that work, even if it is not something that has been published.
Plagiarism is considered a breach of academic integrity and can have very serious consequences.
Texas A & M University Libraries
CCC's Academic Integrity Policy
You can avoid plagiarism by knowing what sources must be documented.
Specific words and phrases - If you use an author's specific words, you must place those words within quotation marks and you must credit the source.
Information and ideas - Even if you use your own words, if you obtained the information or ideas from a source, you must document the source.
You do not need to cite a source for material considered common knowledge (factual information about historical events considered to be in the public domain).
When in doubt, cite!
It's important to cite sources you used in your research for several reasons:
Explore library databases.
MLA Handbook by
"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make a impact with their work" --
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make a impact with their work.
MLA Handbook by
The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index.
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and new formats required additional instructions. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any source.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make a impact with their work" --
