The mission of the Resource Centers at Central Community College is to serve the diverse information needs of our students, faculty, and staff. We support the college’s mission by acquiring resources to support the curriculum and providing equal access to those resources. We promote the development of information literacy through class presentations and interaction with our library users.
The goal of the Resource Centers at Central Community College is to have a usable collection of resources which support the college curriculum. The major objective is to be an active participant in the educational programs of Central Community College. Our collections include materials in various formats such as print, media, and electronic. The collections on each campus reflect curriculum-specific needs and support both on- and off-campus students of the college.
Central Community College is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action institution.
To log into WebCentral, you will enter your WebCentral ID which is the first part of your CCC email (example: raiders@cccneb.edu) and the password you created for your email. You will then be prompted for multi-factor authentication (MFA). If you encounter any problems accessing WebCentral or need a password reset, please contact the CCC Service Center at (308) 398-7999 during business hours.
To access databases or Flipster off-campus, you need to be a current Central Community College (CCC) student, faculty, or staff member. When you try to access one of the databases, a page should pop up where you can enter your username and password. Note: This is the same username & password used for WebCentral access. Multi-factor authentication will be required during login if prompted.
Nebraska residents who are not CCC faculty, student or staff members may access a number of NebraskAccess databases by entering a valid driver's license number or state identification number. If you are a Nebraska resident without a Nebraska driver's license, please contact a library staff member.
The Library Resource Center is open to Central Community College students, staff, faculty, and community visitors. We strive for a safe, equitable learning environment. Users and visitors may be subject to the applicable guidelines, procedures, and administrative decisions for each Central Community College campus.
The availability of collections, services, digital access, and staff may vary based on location or the classification of library user type. Library Resource Center staff may exercise professional discretion in the daily operations of the Library Resource Center.
The use of Library Resource Center resources, collections, services, space, webpages, and staff is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, medical, or financial advice.
The Resource Center staff on each campus is primarily responsible for selecting resources suitable for their individual collection and often review current and retrospective bibliographies and journals, judging format and degree of completeness.
All library users are invited to recommend items for the Resource Center collection. The staff strives to meet the needs for faculty and students.
The following priorities guide selecting resources:
When selecting specific resources for the Resource Centers, the following general points are considered:
General Collection
Items supporting the curriculum of Central Community College have priority in selection.
Books
Books provide a wide scope of historical, comprehensive, and diverse information for our students, faculty, and staff. Textbooks are not bought for the collection. Multiple copies of a book title are not usually bought for each campus collection.
Serials/Periodicals/Journals/Newspapers
Periodicals are publications issued in successive parts, bearing numeric or chronological designation. For publications local in nature, the Resource Center will buy hard copies as long as funding is available. Periodicals and journals are bought through subscription and continue as long as funding is available. When national and international publications are needed, electronic databases are preferred sources. Full-text electronic databases are the preferred source for serials, periodicals, journals, and newspapers.
Audiovisual
Audiovisual materials include, but are not limited to audiotapes, compact discs, and DVDs as recommended by faculty and staff to support instructional needs.
Electronic and Online Resources
Electronic and online resources are available to all students, faculty, and staff. Most of these resources can be accessed remotely. Selection of electronic resources will be based on the same criteria used for other formats. Because of the unique format, other factors such as ease of use, access methods, interface choices, searching and information delivery methods will also be considered.
Out-of-Print Materials
Out-of-print materials are rarely bought unless it is for replacement of heavily-used titles which are either lost or withdrawn because of poor physical condition or they will fill in significant gaps in the collection.
Archival Collection
The Resource Centers will maintain a collection of materials to document the history of Central Community College.
Donations/Gifts
Using the proper guidelines, donations and gifts will be accepted. In addition, all donated materials must be in good physical condition with no writing or highlighting inside. There should be no stains, mildew, or brittle pages. Bindings should be in good repair. The Central Community College Gifts-in-Kind and Donations Procedures form must be completed.
To preserve a well-balanced, viable, and useful collection of resources for Central Community College, the Resource Center staff will continually evaluate the collection to discover its effectiveness.
Replacement
Decisions to replace worn out or damaged materials will be based on:
Deselection
To provide Resource Center patrons with a quality collection, obsolete, damaged, or otherwise unusable material must be withdrawn. The following criteria will be used to deselect books from the Resource Center collections:
The Resource Centers support:
Central Community College strives to provide the college community with current material reflecting diverse views of controversial social, scientific, and philosophical issues. Members of the college community with concerns about material in the Resource Center collection or materials not selected should use the following procedures to express those concerns: