Library Resource Center Information(LRC): About Us

Research Guides or Reference Guides 

The Library Resource Center (LRC) offers a number of online Research Guides. Guides serve as a starting point for information for different research topics (ADHD, fake news, marine pollution, the Holocaust, copyright, etc.). Most guides are collections of curated resources such as books, eBooks, databases, videos, or websites of interest. 

Using Library Resources (Library Tutorials) 

The "Using Library Resources" section of the library website is a tutorial portal with information and instructional videos on specific library databases or services such as EBSCOhost, Films on Demand, and more.

Library Instruction, Information Literacy, and Faculty Collaboration

The Library Resource Center (LRC) Supervisors have professional expertise in information literacy instruction, resources, research navigation, searching, and other library services. Library instruction can be tailored to meet the learning objectives of various faculty, students, courses, staff, and departments at Central Community College. The LRC is open to instructional collaboration. Please contact a library staff member for assistance, needs assessment, or consultation.

Library Orientations and Tours 

All three campus libraries offer resource orientations or library tours to classes/groups upon request. A library orientation session introduces students to the resources available in the library. Students can learn the basics regarding library services and resources. Some examples:

• library website navigation
• finding a book or other print resources
• the basics of constructing an efficient search strategy
• the difference between popular magazines and scholarly journals
• all the tools involved in finding just the right article in the databases;
• steps involved in evaluating a website

Information Literacy Modules 

Information literacy is a vital part of student success and forms the basis of lifelong learning. The Library Resource Center (LRC) offers optional "Information Literacy Skill Builders" to help students perform effective research. These "self-paced" practice modules cover key elements of information literacy like:

• Defining a research topic and developing a research question
• Developing keywords to use with research
• Identifying types of information sources
• Using research strategies to find material
• Refining research results
• Evaluating sources
• Using sources ethically

Information literacy modules are accessible for current students in the "My Courses" tab in WebCentral or in the "Dashboard" section of Canvas. Modules typically include guided overviews, videos, resources, activities, and quizzes (redeemable for badges). 

Digital Magazine Collections

Flipster is a digital magazine newsstand and reading platform that allows users to read print versions of magazines online. Flipster is most compatible with recent desktop computers, laptops, tablets, and smartphones. Some magazine titles may include back issues (Consumer Reports, National Geographic, etc.). 

Digital Database Collections

The Library Resource Center (LRC) is home to over 40 databases that allow access to journal articles, e-books, videos, photos, and other reference material. Our library databases are scholarly in nature and are designed to appeal to those seeking academic research.   

Some highlights include:

• Academic Search Premier: Use 3,100 journals/2,750 peer-reviewed journals across disciplines.
• CultureGrams: A leading reference for concise cultural information on the countries of the world, it also includes information on facts, geography, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
• eBook Collections: Access thousands of free, academic e-books online through databases like the eBook Academic Collection, the eBook Nursing collection, or the eBook Open Access collection, etc.
• Films On Demand: This allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere.
• WorldCat: Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

*A current WebCentral username and password is generally needed for remote database and Flipster access. 

Resource Discovery

The LRC utilizes a discovery service, the EBSCOhost Discovery Service (EDS) as an inclusive search engine for most books, journal articles, e-books, and other digital resources available through our database subscriptions.

Note: EBSCOhost is the LRC's main database vendor. Products from other database vendors (ProQuest, Infobase, etc.) are periodically used. 

*A starting point for the EBSCOhost Discovery Service (EDS) is the grey search box on the library homepage.

*Databases are also individually searchable in the A to Z database list or through the non-EDS, EBSCOhost Search All function. 

Physical Collections

The Library Resource Center (LRC)) is collectively home to 16,0000+ physical materials available for temporary borrowing for library users in the our service area. Individual collection sizes vary from one campus to another. Our physical library collections generally include academic books, popular fiction, magazines, newspapers, reference materials, special collections, etc. All collections are curated and maintained based on guidelines and procedures for collection development. Browse our online catalog.

LRC users assume responsibility for the condition and safe handling of physical materials upon checkout. Physical materials are organized by the Library of Congress (LC) classification system (Columbus and Grand Island) and by the Dewey Decimal system (Hastings). General checkout times are as follows:

• Books, audiobooks, and graphic novels:  21 days
• DVDs or Magazines: 7 days
• Reference or special collections: in-library use only   

Library users may request a renewal of the due dates for physical materials. LRC users may incur an administrative hold or replacement charge for physical materials that are not returned by the end of an academic semester.

Collection Spotlights

At Grand Island:

• The LRC in Grand Island has a new juvenile literature section with over 200+ books. It includes books for elementary, middle school, and high school/young adult readers in several genres.
• Find over 35+ books in the graphic novel collection.  

At Hastings:

• The LRC in Hastings is a super fund site for the former Naval Ammunition Depot. Per federal law, the "U.S.  Army Corps of Engineers Environmental Impact" documents are part of library collections and are available to the public. 
• Explore archival materials and the special map collection.  
• Graphic novels and DVDs are available for checkout. 
• Discover a selection of both children's books and young adult books. 

Interlbrary Loan

For current Central Community College students, staff, and faculty, interlibrary loan allows materials (books, journal articles, etc.) to be requested from other institutions for short-term borrowing. Requests for interlibrary loan items can be made through library staff. 

Makerspace Equipment

For current Central Community College students, staff, and faculty, the Library Resource Center (LRC) has some makerspace equipment available on a periodic basis (Grand Island, NE and Hastings, NE).

Public Services 

To learn more about collections and services available to community visitors, contact a library staff member.